It’s a Girl for Zara Tindall, The Queen’s Granddaughter and Other News

Another year, another Royal Baby–already! On Friday, January 17, Zara Tindall (née Phillips), daughter of Princess Anne, The Princess Royal and Captain Mark Phillips, granddaughter of The Queen and Prince Philip, gave birth to a baby girl. The infant is 16th in line for the throne. Unlike her cousin-in-law, The Duchess of Cambridge, Zara made it in and out of the hospital in Gloucestershire without even a (published) photograph (and good for her!). This is the fourth great-grandchild for The Queen, but the first in matrilineal descent: The Queen, Princess Anne, Zara Tindall, and now the soon-to-be-named little girl.

Image

Interestingly, Zara and Mike Tindall’s daughter is the first female child born to an inherently secure spot in the Order of Succession; since the Succession to the Crown Act 2013 was passed in April of last year, it means that even if Zara and Mike have another child who is a boy, that boy will be 17th in line for the throne and not usurp his sister. Pretty cool, huh?

In other news, I saw this pair of shoes at Nordstrom Rack the other day and went a little nuts. Why? Take a look:

Image

This is not just a gorgeous, burgundy patent leather shoe–it’s a gorgeous, burgundy patent leather L.K. Bennett shoe!!!!!!! Those nude heels The Duchess wore to every other event in 2012 and early 2013? They’re from London-based designer L.K. Bennett. I had to try this on, although I admit I had to wiggle my foot in, even though the label said they were a size 7.5.

photo 2

Not too shabby, right?! Although I forget if toe cleavage is in or out this season (kidding. Mostly)? While I squealed at this discovery, I did not buy the shoes (they were still over $100), but I will think about them for weeks to come. Perhaps I’ll even pay them a visit at Nordstrom Rack, if they’re still there tomorrow…

Finally, there’s been some moving and shaking going on at Buckingham Palace–Prince Charles’s communications team is moving from Clarence House into Buck House, merging with The Queen’s team to give the senior members of the Royal Family (including The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Harry) a more united front. This is significant because it does indicate that Her Majesty is passing more duties to her son, next in line for the throne. While it saddens me to think that The Queen is ostensibly “slowing down,” I suspect she’s been wrestled into this concession, as she’s quite the trooper! I do intend to write her a letter soon… I should get going on that!

Well, Happy New Year, all of you! And congratulations again to Zara and Mike Tindall on the birth of their little girl!

 

Leave a comment